middCourses
with Cihan Artunc3 days ago

Introductory Macro with Professor Artunc wasn't too heavy on the workload, but required time to understand some of the models used in the class. I found myself going through my notes and readings often to try and internalize concepts in the class, which is necessary to do well.

Easy GradingEasy ExamsLots of Homework
3hrs / week Some difficulty Very high value Would take again
with Raphaelle Gauvin-Coulombe3 months ago

This is a Professor I believe most students would agree was a very fair, kind, and knowledgeable instructor. A hallmark of her expertise is that she can answer questions you have simply, in one sentence or less. She is precise in her wording and very helpful if clarity is needed. This course is fast paced- do not miss a class if you can at all help it. She is fundamentally someone who knows her content, works well with students, and is truly a good teacher. Though Economics is not my strength and effort was definitely required outside of class for me, I would take most any class this Professor offers. Coulombe is a wonderful asset to the Economics department at Middlebury and I have no regrets taking her course. I recommend her very highly and all of my peers that I spoke to agree! Favorite instructor I have had at Middlebury so far, and I am not an Economics major.

This is a Professor I believe most students would agree was a very fair, kind, and knowledgeable instructor. A hallmark of her expertise is that she can answer questions you have simply, in one sentence or less. She is precise in her wording and very helpful if clarity is needed. This course is fast paced- do not miss a class if you …Read more

Fast-PacedLots of HomeworkFair Grading
7hrs / week Some difficulty Extremely high value Would take again
with Jason Dolatshahi2 months ago

I loved the class and Jason. The teaching style was very much lecture style and understanding concepts/synthesising information. I found that to be straight-forward, well laid out and useful. Others that dislike lecture style may not love this class. All in all very happy with the class. Do the work and practice problems and you will be set for a good grade :)

Chill and RelaxedFair GradingEasy Exams
2hrs / week Low difficulty High value Would take again
with Raphaelle Gauvin-Coulombe5 months ago

Professor Gauvin-Coulombe was a very clear and effective teacher. Her lectures were easy to follow. Classes included many practice problems that made the weekly problem sets very easy. The class included two midterms and a final exam, with problem sets on each week without an exam. I would definitely take a course with Professor Gauvin-Coulombe again!

Chill and RelaxedEasy Grading
2hrs / week Average difficulty High value Would take again
with Cihan Artunc5 months ago

This course was very difficult, but was the most valuable class that I have taken at Middlebury. Artunc is not for the weak, he requires a lot of engagement outside of class, and office hours are basically mandatory. This is because the problem sets are very difficult, and require collaboration and actually showing up to class to be able to complete the exams.

Fast-PacedLots of HomeworkFair Grading
6hrs / week Some difficulty Above average value Would take again
with Jason Dolatshahi5 months ago

While not the most exciting course, I found it very informative and a good set up to further concepts. Workload was pretty light, one pretty hard test, one super easy test. Professor was nice and made the class enjoyable. Usually have extra work time within class

Chill and RelaxedFair Grading
1hrs / week Low difficulty High value Would take again
with Raphaelle Gauvin-Coulombe5 months ago

Professor Coulombe was a very effective teacher who was extremely clear with her teaching and rarely made mistakes. I felt that I never saw anything on an exam or homework that she didn't teach explicitly. She speaks slowly which helps you to learn the material and is very approachable.

Fast-PacedFair GradingEasy Exams
3hrs / week Average difficulty Above average value Would take again
with Jason Dolatshahi5 months ago

Prof. Dolatshahi seems very passionate and knowledgeable about the material he teaches. The class itself was not that difficult and the readings were the same as what was taught in class. There was also a cool project that connected economics to the real world.

Fast-PacedFair GradingEasy Exams
3hrs / week Some difficulty Above average value Would take again
with David Munro11 months ago

I really enjoyed taking this course with Professor Munro! It provides a solid foundation in Macroeconomics, and isn't too overwhelming. Prof. Munro manages to cover a wide range of content and the way in which the course is broken down makes it easy to follow. The workload is a little heavy, but manageable. The exams aren't difficult either, provided you're able to keep up with the problem sets (the questions on the exams are very similar). I would strongly recommend going to office hours if you're having a hard time with the course; Prof. Munro is always willing to help out and patiently explain concepts again.

I really enjoyed taking this course with Professor Munro! It provides a solid foundation in Macroeconomics, and isn't too overwhelming. Prof. Munro manages to cover a wide range of content and the way in which the course is broken down makes it easy to follow. The workload is a little heavy, but manageable. The exams aren't difficult …Read more

Lots of HomeworkFair GradingFast-Paced
4hrs / week Average difficulty High value Would take again
with Jason Dolatshahi5 months ago

economics is generally intense with a lot of reading, Jason made It easy as there is barely any homework out of class but with that in mind you have to do a lot of individual study and office hours if you want good grades in exams as there is not a lot of homework or work to practice. he kind of has a low tone but the class is good and not intense if you put in the work

Chill and RelaxedConstant ReadingFair Grading
2hrs / week Average difficulty High value Would take again
with Jason Dolatshahi5 months ago

Professor Dolatshahi is pretty good at explaining things, however, the textbook that he provided wasn't totally relevant to the lectures that he presented. However, there were never any curveballs on the test and if you studied the lectures, you would do just fine.

Chill and RelaxedFair GradingDifficult Exams
3hrs / week Average difficulty Extremely high value Would take again
with Jason Dolatshahi5 months ago

Prof. Dolatshahi is new to Midd and new to teaching and it shows. Nice guy and enthusiastic about us learning econ, but his teaching style is a huge learning curve. Don't bother with his readings, instead just focus on his slides. None of his slides and graphs will start to make any sense until right before the test, so don't panic. Pretty chill class, not a lot of homework.

Chill and RelaxedConstant ReadingFair Grading
5hrs / week Average difficulty High value Would take again
with Cihan Artunc5 months ago

Prof. Artunç is a great teacher. He is very knowledgeable and cares about teaching. He does a great job focusing on the fundamentals. Weekly problem sets were difficult and I found myself needing to go to office hours consistently to be successful. The exams are difficult and cumulative but are manageable with ample prep. His class was fast-paced but lectures were relatively interesting for and Intro Macro class.

Prof. Artunç is a great teacher. He is very knowledgeable and cares about teaching. He does a great job focusing on the fundamentals. Weekly problem sets were difficult and I found myself needing to go to office hours consistently to be successful. The exams are difficult and cumulative but are manageable with ample prep. His class w …Read more

Fast-PacedLots of HomeworkDifficult Exams
10hrs / week Very difficulty Above average value Would take again
with Raphaelle Gauvin-Coulombe5 months ago

I think that the material was pretty boring and was presented in an especially boring way. If you read the textbook there is no need to go to class, as it is the textbook on slides. There's never a reason given as to why you're learning what you're learning nor much connection to the outside world.

Chill and RelaxedFair GradingEasy Exams
2hrs / week Low difficulty Low value Would not take again
with Raphaelle Gauvin-Coulombe11 months ago

Intro Macro with Coulombe was a great introduction to economics courses in college. The lectures were the same thing every time, we would go through slides and she would explain each slide's content/graphs. This method of teaching is usually very redundant for me but Coulombe was able to make it very effective. She is an amazing macroeconomist and she knew how to cater her explanations of core concepts so that many people could understand from the get-go. Her exams were a great test of our knowledge and were not that hard to do well on as long as you took notes in class. If you really wanted to get a good grasp of the concepts, it's best to do the reading before class. If you did the readings, class would usually clear up any questions that may have came up during the reading.

Intro Macro with Coulombe was a great introduction to economics courses in college. The lectures were the same thing every time, we would go through slides and she would explain each slide's content/graphs. This method of teaching is usually very redundant for me but Coulombe was able to make it very effective. She is an amazing macr …Read more

Chill and RelaxedEasy Exams
2hrs / week Low difficulty High value Would take again
with Cihan Artunc12 months ago

I did not have a great experience in this course mostly because of Artunc. He tended to go off on long tangents that made what should have been simple concepts very confusing. I do think I learned the basics of macroeconomics but I do not think it was worth it as the course did not even fill any distribution requirements. Would not recommend unless you need it for your degree.

Fast-PacedLots of HomeworkFair Grading
8hrs / week Some difficulty Average value Would not take again
with David Munro12 months ago

I'm not really an econ person so I found it pretty difficult to grasp. With that being said, I thought this was a pretty typical 100 level course with a fair amount of work every week. Class was straightforward and Munro made connections to real stories which kept it interesting. We had two midterms and a final. There was also a 5-7 page paper for the class, which felt a bit overkill for an intro to econ class. A whole lot of graphing that some other econ classes do not have. Overall, good professor and pretty much what you expect from an introductory economics class

I'm not really an econ person so I found it pretty difficult to grasp. With that being said, I thought this was a pretty typical 100 level course with a fair amount of work every week. Class was straightforward and Munro made connections to real stories which kept it interesting. We had two midterms and a final. There was also a 5-7 …Read more

Fast-PacedFair GradingLots of Homework
4hrs / week Some difficulty High value Would not take again
with Cihan Artunc12 months ago

Prof. Artunç did not just mindlessly go through the textbook - he wanted us to actually understand the material and the lectures/HWs/take-home tests were effective in accomplishing that. Group work is encouraged. Slightly demanding class, but more rewarding.

Fast-PacedFair Grading
5hrs / week Some difficulty High value Would take again
with Cihan Artunc12 months ago

It was definitley hard, but the course itself was really good. Artunc is a wonderful teacher and the knowledge you gained will be different from any other macro teacher. He moves really quick so you have to pay attention, but he is the best at explaining and will always help you.

Fast-PacedLots of HomeworkTough Grading
10hrs / week Extremely difficulty Extremely high value Would take again
with Cihan Artunc12 months ago

Lots of reading is assigned, but it's not really all that necessary. Weekly problem sets were tough and often arbitrary, but useful for learning the material. Exams were fair and as expected. Artunc was very approachable, direct, and friendly, and clearly an expert. Final project was exhausting and unnecessary.

Chill and RelaxedFair Grading
4hrs / week Low difficulty High value Would take again
with Raphaelle Gauvin-Coulombe12 months ago

PLEASE take Macroecon with Professor Coulombe. She was absolutely amazing and did a great job of explaining baseline concepts for econ. Highly recommend. The readings were simple and easy to understand, and problem sets were the same way- were not too difficult yet were helpful and did not feel like busy work.

Easy GradingEasy ExamsSlow-Paced
5hrs / week Very low difficulty Above average value Would take again
with Erin Wolcott12 months ago

The classes were pretty straightforward. She lectured on the material from the book which was somewhat tedious but fairly easy. The exams were a little bit tough as they only contained around 10 questions making it tough if you get one wrong. If you are interested in working in the Federal reserve you should definitely take Professor Wolcott as this is something she is quite passionate about.

The classes were pretty straightforward. She lectured on the material from the book which was somewhat tedious but fairly easy. The exams were a little bit tough as they only contained around 10 questions making it tough if you get one wrong. If you are interested in working in the Federal reserve you should definitely take Professor …Read more

Fair GradingDifficult ExamsLots of Homework
4hrs / week Average difficulty Above average value Would take again
with David Munro12 months ago

Necessary class, however, Professor Munro's teaching can get confused. It really is because he tends to "dumb it down" by so much that it actually becomes more difficult to understand, but this is mainly in the beginning. Afterwards, once the course progresses, it becomes easier to comprehend.

Fast-PacedLots of HomeworkFair Grading
3hrs / week Low difficulty Above average value Would not take again
with Raphaelle Gauvin-Coulombe12 months ago

I'd recommend Professor Coulombe to anyone looking to take macro at midd. Her explanations should leave every student walking out of her class knowing at least the bare minimum about economics. Problem sets weren't too bad and they will definitely help you succeed in the course.

Easy ExamsChill and RelaxedFair Grading
5hrs / week Low difficulty Above average value Would take again
with Cihan Artunc9 months ago

I really struggled in this class. I went in hoping to major in economics but ultimately decided against it after taking this course. The material was really hard and I felt like once I started to grasp it, we would move on. The problem sets were incredibly long and the only reason I did well on them was because I went to office hours and worked with friends. I also found it really hard to get in touch with the professor and set up meetings 1:1. I would study for hours for exams and then end up not doing well because it was not something we covered in depth. Overall, I enjoyed the material but because our teaching/learning styles didn't mesh, I wasn't very successful in the class.

I really struggled in this class. I went in hoping to major in economics but ultimately decided against it after taking this course. The material was really hard and I felt like once I started to grasp it, we would move on. The problem sets were incredibly long and the only reason I did well on them was because I went to office hours …Read more

Fast-PacedTough GradingDifficult Exams
7hrs / week Extremely difficulty Above average value Would not take again
with David Munro12 months ago

Munro is a great, interesting, and funny person, but is not the best professor, his teaching style isn't very engaging and tends not to teach what the homework is about. He assigns long homeworks with concepts we haven't practiced before. He also loves to assign busy work such as summarizing texts.

Chill and RelaxedLots of HomeworkTough Grading
2hrs / week Very difficulty Average value Would not take again
with David Munro12 months ago

Professor Munro is very nice and a great guy. However, his teaching style is sometimes difficult to follow and the content can feel boring at some points. Also, the class is different from other Macroeconomics classes in the college, the content is very different from what my friends saw in ECON150 with other Professors.

Chill and RelaxedLots of HomeworkFair Grading
4hrs / week Average difficulty Low value Would not take again
with Cihan Artunc12 months ago

Artunc is very passionate about economics, but I believe he should not be teaching an intro class. He is too smart to be teaching an introductory level course and should stick to teaching higher level econ courses. His lectures were very insightful, but he would tend to talk about unrelated topics which made it hard for me to keep up with his lectures. The homework problem sets were longer than the ones other into macro professors give out.

Artunc is very passionate about economics, but I believe he should not be teaching an intro class. He is too smart to be teaching an introductory level course and should stick to teaching higher level econ courses. His lectures were very insightful, but he would tend to talk about unrelated topics which made it hard for me to keep u …Read more

Lots of HomeworkTough GradingDifficult Exams
0hrs / week Some difficulty Average value Would not take again

Coulombe is a good professor, but it's important that you spend time reading the textbook alongside paying attention in the lectures because there are concepts there that will be important on the exams. She has a Quebecois accent which doesn't hinder her teaching but it's interesting. She's also very understanding if things come up and you aren't able to complete some of the work, it's obvious that she wants her students to succeed in the class. The exams are very fair and if you make doing the work a habit you'll get an A.

Coulombe is a good professor, but it's important that you spend time reading the textbook alongside paying attention in the lectures because there are concepts there that will be important on the exams. She has a Quebecois accent which doesn't hinder her teaching but it's interesting. She's also very understanding if things come up a …Read more

Fast-PacedFair GradingEasy Exams
5hrs / week Average difficulty Above average value Would take again
with Erin Wolcottlast year

This class was a good introduction to macroeconomics, and I felt that all of the basic concepts were covered well. I do think that the textbook readings were a little excessive at times because most of the reading was not even discussed in class and we didn’t need to know the material on the exam. However, I think the professor was very good at explaining concepts and was very clear in what we needed to understand for exams. The problem sets can be long and the reading quizzes are tedious, but otherwise there is not a lot of other work for the class besides long-term work on the final project for the class. I am not intending on majoring in economics but I think this class was overall interesting and helped me understand overarching macroeconomic concepts, so I believe this class is worth taking.

This class was a good introduction to macroeconomics, and I felt that all of the basic concepts were covered well. I do think that the textbook readings were a little excessive at times because most of the reading was not even discussed in class and we didn’t need to know the material on the exam. However, I think the professor was v …Read more

Lots of HomeworkFair GradingDifficult Exams
8hrs / week Average difficulty Above average value Would take again
with Jason Dolatshahi5 months ago

Professor Jason is a new professor but I think he did a very good job. he has a relaxed teaching style and his slides are very easy to understand. The course work load is very light and easy. Professor is a cool dude.

Chill and RelaxedFair GradingEasy Exams
2hrs / week Very low difficulty High value Would take again
with Jason Dolatshahi4 months ago

I think for his first year teaching he is a pretty solid professor. He's pretty chill and there is never any surprises on his exams. Theres never any homework but if you do the assigned practive problems you should have no problems passing the exams.

Chill and RelaxedFair GradingEasy Exams
1hrs / week Extremely low difficulty High value Would take again
with Raphaelle Gauvin-Coulombe5 months ago

Professor Coulombe is great. She has such a clear and organized teaching style. I really enjoyed this course. If you take good notes and go to the lectures you will do fine. I would definitely recommend taking Macro with her.

Fair Grading
4hrs / week Average difficulty High value Would take again
with Jason Dolatshahi5 months ago

Not a lot of homework. There is room for error on exams. Need to pay attention during lectures in order to take all the information in. There was one group project, but it was relatively easy. He is very flexible with office hours.

Fast-PacedFair GradingDifficult Exams
3hrs / week Some difficulty Above average value Would take again
with Raphaelle Gauvin-Coulombe5 months ago

she was a boring lecturer but not that bad. there were lots of problem sets which could require additional time in office hours. there was also 2 midterms and 1 final which were not that hard but could require some extra studying

Chill and RelaxedLots of HomeworkFair Grading
3hrs / week Average difficulty Low value Would not take again
with Raphaelle Gauvin-Coulombe5 months ago

Very easy to understand the content and she made it very clear. The problem sets reflect what is taught in class, and the exams are also very similar to what is taught in class. She is very nice and also helpful during office hours.

Chill and RelaxedFair GradingEasy Exams
3hrs / week Low difficulty Above average value Would not take again
with Carolyn Craven5 months ago

Very straightforward tests and fairly easy grading. However, lectures were quite dry (for the most part) and if you miss something on them you’re kind of screwed for the HW (the textbook it kinda useless). Didn’t really like this class, but if you put in a minimal amount of effort you should walk away with a fine grade.

3hrs / week Low difficulty Low value Would not take again
with Jason Dolatshahi5 months ago

I really enjoy taking Intro Macro because the professor is very understanding and wants everyone in the class to do well. I find the material very interesting and relevant to what is seen in the news.

Chill and RelaxedFair GradingEasy Exams
4hrs / week Average difficulty Above average value Would take again
with Erin Wolcottlast year

You must read a textbook chapter every week to complete a quiz. The quizzes are not complicated. The problem sets are somewhat challenging because the questions are ambiguous. Professor Wolcott also worked for the FED. If you are interested in an internship or a full-time job at one of the regional banks, she is the person to talk to.

Chill and RelaxedConstant ReadingFair Grading
4hrs / week Average difficulty Extremely high value Would take again
with Cihan Artunclast year

Professor Artunç is certainly more difficult than other macro teachers, but he is not unfair. Office hours are absolutely essential to do well in his class as the problem sets are often confusing and extremely long. I would take another course with this professor but I would not recommend him to anyone that is not very interested in majoring or minoring in economics, or who is just not interested in economics at all.

Professor Artunç is certainly more difficult than other macro teachers, but he is not unfair. Office hours are absolutely essential to do well in his class as the problem sets are often confusing and extremely long. I would take another course with this professor but I would not recommend him to anyone that is not very interested in …Read more

Fast-PacedLots of HomeworkTough Grading
4hrs / week Very difficulty Above average value Would not take again
with Carolyn Craven12 months ago

I really liked professor Craven. She was very clear and to the point. Her homework assignments were really helpful for understanding the material and what was going to be on the test. Overall I had a good experience in this class.

Lots of HomeworkFair GradingEasy Exams
2hrs / week Low difficulty High value Would take again
with Cihan Artunclast year

I feel 50/50 on Professor Artunç. First I want to emphasize that he’s a professor that wants to see you succeed and will help you get to your goals. But, that being said the way he does that isn’t necessarily good. His classes are very fast paced and requires a lot of reading. He expects you to know everything and doesn’t really stop if no one asks a question. I understand that this is not an easy class, but I don’t think it’s supposed to be this hard. The problem sets are absurdly long, hard, and have nothing to do with what his lectures are about. If you don’t go to office hours, you will most likely not pass the course. But even his office hours are unhelpful. CTLR is the only reason I will (most likely) end the course with a B+. I think that if you want to learn a lot this is definitely a class you want to take, but be prepared to teach yourself and spend 8+ frustrating hours a week studying and doing the homework’s and readings.

I feel 50/50 on Professor Artunç. First I want to emphasize that he’s a professor that wants to see you succeed and will help you get to your goals. But, that being said the way he does that isn’t necessarily good. His classes are very fast paced and requires a lot of reading. He expects you to know everything and doesn’t really stop …Read more

Fast-PacedLots of HomeworkDifficult Exams
8hrs / week Very difficulty High value Would not take again
with David Munro12 months ago

A solid class, that had about 1 homework assignment a week, plus a couple midterms and a final. Professor Munro makes sure to spend enough time to explain the concepts so that they eventually make sense, even if initially confusing.

Chill and RelaxedFair GradingEasy Exams
5hrs / week Some difficulty High value Would take again
with Erin Wolcottlast year

A mediocre course. This was my introduction to the econ department and it made me uninterested in taking more econ courses. The lectures were thoroughly boring, the problem sets we had each week were tough, and there was generally a lot of staring at graphs and formulae - not exactly stimulating. There was an oral exam which was fine, but the final took the form of a group project which was extremely difficult and frustrating to complete because it didn't feel like we had adequate guidance from the professor. Wolcott was enthusiastic and I felt she tried; I like her as a person, but the end result was just not that good. I really hope the course has improved since I took it, because some of the material was interesting. Take it if you want to learn about how the economy at large works and are willing to put up with potentially boring lectures and a BS final project.

A mediocre course. This was my introduction to the econ department and it made me uninterested in taking more econ courses. The lectures were thoroughly boring, the problem sets we had each week were tough, and there was generally a lot of staring at graphs and formulae - not exactly stimulating. There was an oral exam which was fine …Read more

Project ExamsLots of Homework
8hrs / week Very difficulty Above average value Would not take again

Overall I believe this course does what it needs to do. Professor Gauvin-Coulombe teaches in a very detailed oriented way, so detail oriented that this class essentially is taught via a slideshow and taught word for word using them. It's not a bad thing because it does make class very accessible and light to grasp. It's a great low stress class with valuable content for any one regardless of major so recommend but in class lecture won't always be the most thrilling. If you need additional support she is incredibly helpful and the hw is always interesting and has a real world connection which is really nice. Good class.

Overall I believe this course does what it needs to do. Professor Gauvin-Coulombe teaches in a very detailed oriented way, so detail oriented that this class essentially is taught via a slideshow and taught word for word using them. It's not a bad thing because it does make class very accessible and light to grasp. It's a great low s …Read more

Chill and RelaxedFair Grading
1hrs / week Low difficulty Average value Would not take again
with Carolyn Craven12 months ago

Class notes are very clear. Just need to grasp the concepts through them and review the homework to prepare for the exams. The grading is quite arbitrary though. Ended up with a grade that could have ben higher.

Chill and RelaxedLots of HomeworkTough Grading
10hrs / week Low difficulty High value Would take again
with Erin Wolcottlast year

Wolcott is pretty nice, huge Fed fan. She puts a lot of value on making everyone feel included and is good at explaining things. However, she has extremely limited office hours and does them at the worst times.

Lots of HomeworkFair GradingDifficult Exams
4hrs / week Some difficulty High value Would take again

Professor Gauvin is great. She clearly explained the material and organizes the course well. There is a weekly reading and problem set, takes no more than 2-3 hours. The reading is optional as long as you pay attention in class. The lecture is her explaining concepts with slides backing her. She does get the class involved by asking questions and doing practice questions to help students check their understanding.

Professor Gauvin is great. She clearly explained the material and organizes the course well. There is a weekly reading and problem set, takes no more than 2-3 hours. The reading is optional as long as you pay attention in class. The lecture is her explaining concepts with slides backing her. She does get the class involved by asking …Read more

Chill and RelaxedFair GradingEasy Exams
2hrs / week Low difficulty High value Would take again
with Cihan Artunclast year

This course was very interesting and i would take it again any day and will be taking more courses with this prof if I can. The problem sets were harder than other professors but it was worth it in the end when I not only learned the material but will remember it for future tests and classes. Lots of time spend out of class on psets and textbook readings (which i def recommend doing). I recommend taking this class.

This course was very interesting and i would take it again any day and will be taking more courses with this prof if I can. The problem sets were harder than other professors but it was worth it in the end when I not only learned the material but will remember it for future tests and classes. Lots of time spend out of class on psets …Read more

Fast-PacedLots of HomeworkFair Grading
5hrs / week Very difficulty Very high value Would take again
with Raphaelle Gauvin-Coulombe3 months ago

Her exams were relatively fair, but not great. Some questions were confusing. She wasn't the most effective at explaining concepts, but was a very nice person. I would recommend taking it with Gauvin-Coulombe, but definitely dont avoid taking it with her either

Fast-PacedFair GradingDifficult Exams
3hrs / week Some difficulty Above average value Would not take again
with Jason Dolatshahi5 months ago

Prof Dolatshahi knows the material but his lectures can get boring and repetitive. The prescribed textbook was a lot of reading, and even he gave up on assigning readings halfway and we use his lectures mainly. His practice questions are good. If you can solve those the exams are pretty standard. His office hours are useful in understanding concepts more clearly. I do appreciate that he is flexible while scheduling office hour appts if you can't make his regular hours.

Prof Dolatshahi knows the material but his lectures can get boring and repetitive. The prescribed textbook was a lot of reading, and even he gave up on assigning readings halfway and we use his lectures mainly. His practice questions are good. If you can solve those the exams are pretty standard. His office hours are useful in unders …Read more

Fast-PacedFair GradingEasy Exams
2hrs / week Average difficulty Above average value Would not take again
with Jason Dolatshahi5 months ago

I took the class with Jason, and I didn't really have any problem, except for the fact that he speaks really quiet. But his slides are helpful and if you go to his office hours, he will explain stuff in detail. He's really chill so if you want a relaxed class, I would recommend him.

Chill and RelaxedFair GradingEasy Exams
1hrs / week Average difficulty Low value Would not take again
with Carolyn Cravenlast year

Honestly, I think that Carolyn Craven did a great job at teaching macroeconomics. If you just pay attention towards the lectures, do the homework and keep up with the class, you will pass. Also I think is a great explainer when it comes to understanding macroeconomic concepts like Aggregate Demand, and unemployment, etc.

Chill and RelaxedLots of HomeworkFair Grading
4hrs / week Average difficulty High value Would take again

Coming from my senior year of high school, I had taken AP macroeconomics, so most of the course was a review. Professor Raphaelle-Columbe is very detail, oriented, and helpful during office hours. She lays out the course very clearly, and her expectations were clear from the start!

Chill and RelaxedFair Grading
3hrs / week Low difficulty Extremely high value Would take again
with Cihan Artunc12 months ago

Artunc is an interesting guy. Lectures are very boring and hard to pay attention in. The problem sets are absurdly long and confusing. Would take Macro with anyone else before him. Bad teach and bad class

Tough GradingFast-Paced
5hrs / week Some difficulty Average value Would not take again

Professor Gavin-Coulumbe comes to class very prepared, with thorough notes. She explains concepts very well and is clear on what she will be include in assignments and exams. I would recommend taking this class with her, especially if you have no background knowledge on the theory of macroeconomics

Fast-PacedConstant ReadingFair Grading
4hrs / week Average difficulty Average value Would take again

Professor Coulombe is very accommodating and does a good job of teaching the lectures. She goes into detail and is engaging in class. The exams are fairly easy and the problem sets are easy if you do the reading. Overall, this is a good professor to take Macro with.

Chill and RelaxedEasy GradingEasy Exams
3hrs / week Low difficulty Very high value Would take again

I took intro to macro with Coulombe and while the subject matter isn't the most interesting thing, I thought that Coulombe did a good job of getting through the material at a pretty good pace. The course starts off pretty slow with supply and demand, so if you've had any experience with econ, the beginning should be pretty easy, but it picks up towards the end. We have a problem set due every week, 2 midterms, and a final.

I took intro to macro with Coulombe and while the subject matter isn't the most interesting thing, I thought that Coulombe did a good job of getting through the material at a pretty good pace. The course starts off pretty slow with supply and demand, so if you've had any experience with econ, the beginning should be pretty easy, but …Read more

Lots of HomeworkFair GradingDifficult Exams
3hrs / week Very difficulty High value Would take again
with Carolyn Cravenlast year

Craven makes the course very straightforward, with no smoke and mirrors in terms of what to expect. Weekly problem sets graded for accuracy and 3 exams throughout the year. She rarely references the textbook, just study what she lectures on and you'll be fine.

Fast-PacedLots of HomeworkFair Grading
4hrs / week Some difficulty Very high value Would take again
with Cihan Artunclast year

Intro to macro with prof Artunc is a challenging class with problem sets due every week. These problem sets often take multiple hours to complete and going into his office hours is nearly essential to do well in this class. Even though the material is taught fast, Artunc really wants everyone to exceed and is accommodating. He has an awkward but funny sense of humor and gives a great deal of knowledge that will be useful to Econ majors.

Intro to macro with prof Artunc is a challenging class with problem sets due every week. These problem sets often take multiple hours to complete and going into his office hours is nearly essential to do well in this class. Even though the material is taught fast, Artunc really wants everyone to exceed and is accommodating. He has an …Read more

Fast-PacedLots of HomeworkFair Grading
5hrs / week Very difficulty High value Would not take again

Coulombe was a clear teacher and lecturer. She made a huge effort to know everyone's name and is super helpful during office hours. Not the most engaging content however this is expected of the course material. Overall I recommend taking this course with Coulombe.

Chill and RelaxedFair Grading
5hrs / week Some difficulty Low value Would not take again
with Carolyn Cravenlast year

I did not like her teaching style. She didn't use any slideshows in her lectures; instead, she handwrites everything on the board, and her handwriting is horrible which made trying to learn and take notes a lot more frustrating than it needed to. I also thought her exams were really hard. I heard great things about the other professors. My advice would be to avoid taking cravens class if you can.

I did not like her teaching style. She didn't use any slideshows in her lectures; instead, she handwrites everything on the board, and her handwriting is horrible which made trying to learn and take notes a lot more frustrating than it needed to. I also thought her exams were really hard. I heard great things about the other professo …Read more

Lots of HomeworkTough GradingDifficult Exams
4hrs / week Very difficulty Low value Would not take again
with David Munro12 months ago

Professor Munro is a beauty. He uses a unique curriculum for this course, so we do not have to read a textbook. The content was mostly pretty easy, and Munro's grading is very lenient. I definitely recommend this as a way to dip your feet in the econ program.

Chill and RelaxedLots of HomeworkFair Grading
3hrs / week Low difficulty Above average value Would take again
with David Munro5 months ago

The class was pretty straight forward and Professor Munro was very fair with grading and tests. The tests weren't too difficult and neither were the problem sets and the office hours were pretty helpful.

Chill and RelaxedFair Grading
5hrs / week Average difficulty Above average value Would take again
with Raphaelle Gauvin-Coulombe5 months ago

The class was interesting and content was taught really well by Professor Coulombe. You have to do the readings before class and pay attention in class. If you need help she is there for office hours, which was very helpful when doing problem sets for h.w.

Fast-PacedLots of HomeworkEasy Grading
2hrs / week Average difficulty Average value Would take again
with Raphaelle Gauvin-Coulombe5 months ago

The class itself is not too much work but I am not a big fan of the teaching style. I found myself constantly confused in class and not having enough time to copy things down. The online notes are also not very useful.

Fast-PacedFair GradingDifficult Exams
4hrs / week Average difficulty High value Would not take again
with Carolyn Cravenlast year

I took this class with Craven and really enjoyed the class. The weekly problem sets are very easy and the tests were not very hard at all. She prepares a practice test that always has the same problems that were on the exams.

Chill and RelaxedLots of HomeworkEasy Grading
2hrs / week Low difficulty Average value Would take again

This course is a great first semester course. Professor Gauvin-Coulombe's teaching style is very clear and effective. Problem Sets are similar to work done in class and felt very fair. Exams are also similar to practice exams.

Chill and RelaxedFair GradingEasy Exams
2hrs / week Low difficulty Extremely high value Would take again
with Carolyn Cravenlast year

Overall a great course. It introduces me to basic macro. The class is very chill and the exams aren't hard. There is a problem set every week but that's all for the homework. Also there is very little reading

Chill and RelaxedEasy Exams
3hrs / week Low difficulty Above average value Would take again
with Erin Wolcottlast year

A mediocre course. I felt that the textbook we are using was unnecessarily long and that she didn't build off enough the material tackled in it. The exams are a mix of material from the textbook and her lectures, so it's quite tricky as there are questions about topics in the textbook she didn't discuss thoroughly. There are also problem sets every week aside from the reading for the next topic so it's a fair bit of work to put in. The final project also doesn't feel substantially thought through and we constantly feel lost about what we're doing. I appreciate what I've learned but I feel like the course can be improved much more.

A mediocre course. I felt that the textbook we are using was unnecessarily long and that she didn't build off enough the material tackled in it. The exams are a mix of material from the textbook and her lectures, so it's quite tricky as there are questions about topics in the textbook she didn't discuss thoroughly. There are also pro …Read more

Fast-PacedConstant ReadingDifficult Exams
3hrs / week Average difficulty Average value Would not take again
with Carolyn Cravenlast year

Craven is a good teacher and lecturer... explains things clearly and uses relevant examples. 1 problem set/week and exams are very reflective of what is taught in class- straightforward. Downside is class can be a bit dry/boring at times.

Fair GradingEasy Exams
3hrs / week Low difficulty High value Would take again
with Carolyn Cravenlast year

Craven was amazing and I recommend her. There is a weekly problem set and they are all relatively easy. The exams are also easy because she gives a practice test with very similar material. Craven is the best.

Easy ExamsFair Grading
2hrs / week Low difficulty High value Would take again

I didn't particularly feel there was much enthusiasm on the professor's part. Granted, I took this course when it was only available online so hopefully it is better now. Even though I am not an Econ major I do have a lot of interest in the subject, so I was very disappointed by the lackluster nature of this course, its heavy reliance on the textbook and the long boring lectures that were mostly occupied with studying supply/demand curves and very rarely with the real world significance of what we were learning. We were assigned a problem set once a week and there was a large midterm and final accompanied by periodic quizzes. The grading often seemed somewhat arbitrary and unnecessarily tough. There were several instances where I openly disagreed with the professor about the way she worded questions on the exams. Overall this was not a great introduction to the Econ department, and I wouldn't recommend it to a friend (or I would at least encourage them to choose a different professor.)

I didn't particularly feel there was much enthusiasm on the professor's part. Granted, I took this course when it was only available online so hopefully it is better now. Even though I am not an Econ major I do have a lot of interest in the subject, so I was very disappointed by the lackluster nature of this course, its heavy relianc …Read more

6hrs / week Average difficulty Low value Would not take again

The classes focus on the readings for that week. Great introduction course into the world of Economics. You really learn the fundamental aspects of Economics. No prior knowledge needed. I highly recommend this course and this teacher.

Fast-PacedLots of HomeworkEasy Exams
2hrs / week Low difficulty Very high value Would take again
with Carolyn Cravenlast year

Wasn't always the most interesting class, but Craven was excellent at explaining most concepts, so it never felt like I was lost. A lot of the material is pretty dry, but it's not terribly hard so I didn't mind it too much.

Chill and RelaxedEasy GradingEasy Exams
2hrs / week Low difficulty Above average value Would not take again
with Carolyn Cravenlast year

I found this class somewhat boring and the teacher was not very enthused to be teaching. Nonetheless, I learned a lot and didn't find the material overly difficult. I think if you do the homework you will do fine. Also, there is very little work to be done on a week to week basis.

Chill and RelaxedFair GradingEasy Exams
2hrs / week Average difficulty Above average value Would take again

Psets take 1-2h per week, don’t have to do readings if you pay attention in class, tests are super easy if you have any idea what’s going on. Coloumbe actually cares about the students (and the students care about her iykyk)

Chill and RelaxedFair GradingEasy Exams
2hrs / week Low difficulty High value Would take again
with Cihan Artunclast year

Macro is not meant to be a hard class, but Artunc made it a hard class. The problem sets were way too long, and the exams which were take home took hours. I would not recommend this professor for macro, take it with literally anyone else.

Fast-PacedLots of HomeworkTough Grading
8hrs / week Very difficulty High value Would not take again
with Carolyn Cravenlast year

Fairly standard class. Craven was very nice and accommodating, albeit a little scattered/boring at times. Overall I thought she did a decent job teaching and was a very fair grader. She welcomed questions and her office hours were helpful. I retained a lot and it was a good first exposure to the economics major. Would recommend both Craven and the class.

Chill and RelaxedFair Grading
4hrs / week Average difficulty Low value Would take again
with Carolyn Cravenlast year

Would not recommend Craven. She was not accommodating towards personal circumstances and was actually very rude. Does not seem to care about her students and her teaching style was boring. Good luck if you take this with her.

Fast-PacedLots of HomeworkFair Grading
3hrs / week Low difficulty Extremely low value Would not take again
with Carolyn Cravenlast year

Although she teaches straight from her notes and sometimes does not notice the errors in her notes, she is very aware. Those 5-7 minute breaks in the middle of the class really allow you to take a break and come back to the second half of the lecture a little more clear-minded.

Fast-PacedFair GradingDifficult Exams
6hrs / week Average difficulty Average value Would not take again

I think that Professor Coulombe is a very nice person and cares about her students, however I did not find her teaching to be engaging. It was often difficult to pay attention in class, and although the tests were fair, I didn't always feel adequately prepared for the,

Chill and RelaxedFair Grading
3hrs / week Average difficulty Low value Would not take again